Home > Events > Stormwater 2013 Meeting

Stormwater 2013 Meeting

Last year, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced its intention to significantly update portions of its municipal stormwater regulations. These new regulations may significantly change stormwater management requirements for local developers and governments alike. The Mayors Innovation Project worked with mayors to share our priorities and feedback on this issue with the EPA. 

Download the Full Agenda

Wednesday, May 29

​9:30 - 10:00am


​10:00 - 10:30am

​Welcome, Introductions, and Opening remarks from Nancy Stoner, EPA

​10:30am - 12:00pm

What can we learn from existing programs and practices?

Matt Millea, Onondaga County NY
Charlotte Katzenmoyer, Lancaster PA
Ken Anderson, Kane County IL
Eric Schmechel, Dubuque IA
Tom Price, Conservation Design Forum

​12:00 - 12:30pm


​12:30 - 12:45pm

​Presentation from the EPA on the new Stormwater rule

​12:45 - 3:45pm

Facilitated discussion on the draft stormwater rule, covering:

EPA’s goals for the rule

Mayoral/City priorities

How will the rule improve over current regulations in terms of:

  • Water quality
  • Flooding
  • Infill development
  • Equity in coverage
  • Cost to cities
  • Flexibility in implementation

What metrics will cities/developments be responsible for meeting and what is the baseline? What is the implementation timeframe?

Mechanics and implications of a watershed approach

Coordination with states, between EPA programs, between EPA and other federal agencies

Will technical assistance be available for MS4s?


​Adjourn and next steps


Kane County’s Existing Stormwater Management Program and Practices, Kenneth N. Anderson, Jr., May 29th, 2013. Read more.

General Overiew and Existing Examples of Performance Standards, Nancy Stoner, May 29th, 2013. Read more.

Working Across Political Jurisdictions Post-Construction Implementation, Eric Schmechel and Dean Mattoon, May 29th, 2013. Read more.

Clean Water Act’s Stormwater Program, United States Environmental Protection Agency, May 29th, 2013. Read more.

AMCOL Headquarters, Conservation Design Forum, May 29th, 2013. Read more.

Name, Title, City/Organization
Kenneth Anderson, Manager - Kane County Subdivision & Special Projects Division, Kane County, IL
Gary Belan, Director, Clean Water Program, American Rivers
Simon Belisle, Program Assistant, Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative
Connie Bosma, Municipal Branch Chief, EPA
Anthony Charlton, Director, DuPage County , IL
Alison Corwin, Program Officer, Surdna Foundation
Harriet Festing, Director, Water Program, Center for Neighborhood Technology
Sonia Harvat, Special Assistant to the Director, Nashville Water Services, City of Nashville, TN
Karen Hobbs, Senior Policy Analyst, Natural Resources Defense Council
Davey Ives, Environmental Projects Coordinator, City of Bridgeport, CT
Charlotte Katzenmoyer, Director of Public Works, City of Lancaster, PA
Mark Kleinschmidt, Mayor, Town of Chapel Hill, NC
Aaron Koch, Deputy Commissioner, Chicago Department of Water Management
Mike Lunn, Enviromental Services Manager, City of Grand Rapids, MI
James MacAdam, Planning, Transportation, and Sustainability Policy Advisor to the Mayor, City of Tucson, AZ
Dean Mattoon, Engineering Technician, Dubuque, IA
Matthew J. Millea, Deputy County Executive for Physical Services, Onondaga County, NY
Robert Phillips, City Engineer, City of Madison, WI
David  Pope, Steering Committee Member, Mayors Innovation Project
Tom Price, Principal Water Resources Engineer, Conservation Design Forum, Inc.
Satya Rhodes-Conway, Managing Director, Mayors Innovation Project
Eric Schmechel, Urban Conservationist, Dubuque SWCD
Debra Shore, Commissioner, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District
Paul Soglin, Mayor, City of Madison, WI
Hal Sprague, Manager of Water Policy, Center for Neighborhood Technology
David Stoneback, Utilities Director, City of Evanston, IL
Nancy Stoner, Actinig Assistant Administrator, EPA
Kathy Tholin, CEO, Center for Neighborhood Technology
Rachel Webb, Watershed Team Leader, Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District